A Return To Osten Ard

My favorite fantasy series of all time is Tad Williams’ Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.  I’ve reread it a couple of times through the years and I’m excited that 2017 will see a return to that world.Strangely enough I haven’t been a huge fan of Williams stuff in general, he’s hit or miss for me (similar to Stephen King).  I loved The War of the Flowers and Caliban’s Hour, but couldn’t get into the Shadowmarch and Otherland series and the Bobby Dollar stuff never interested me to check out.

But Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was just amazing.  Anytime anyone asks for a good fantasy series, this is the first I recommend (followed by Michael J. Sullivan’s Riyria Revelations series).

The Heart of What was LostThe 3rd book, To Green Angel Tower came out in 1994 and was so big that it needed to be split into two books with the second out later that year.  It’s been twenty-two years since we last visited Osten Ard and without much fanfare I found out that Williams is writing a sequel trilogy and there will also be a stand alone novel before the trilogy.

The Heart Of What Was Lost comes out in January 2017 and picks up at the end of To Green Angel Tower.

The Witchwood Crown starts the new trilogy and is out in April 2017.

I can see my writing output going way down in those two months as I eagerly devour the new journeys to Osten Ard.  Which means I need to clear space in the calendar to reread the original trilogy again.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s